Skip to content

What is hypnobirthing?

August 7, 2007

Because I haven’t (yet) had babies, I am a bit sceptical of all the alternative therapies which claim to be ‘essential’ for childbirth. My (clearly uniformed) opinion is 1. get it out safely and 2. lots of drugs = less pain. So it’s fair to say I was initially sceptical of hypnobirthing… reduced pain, rapid postnatal recovery, special bonding, shortened labour, absence of fear – sounds too good to be true – until I met Patti Good from BabyJourney. She talks a great deal of sense, is extremely well qualified and even if you aren’t ready to go there, she’s a fascinating speaker and well worth having a chat with. She also offers other therapies, from assisting couples facing infertility to helping worn-out Mums. A lifeline for many people I’m sure… you just have to know it’s out there!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2007 6:00 am

    Sounds interesting….

  2. Rachael permalink
    September 10, 2007 1:41 pm

    I had my second son using the Hypnobirthing method and wow! what a difference!

    With the first son I had gas and air and ended up with an epidural. I felt spaced out and in agony. With the second I had him in three hours at home with no pain relief. Not even paracetamol. And before you think that I was brave – I wasn’t. Because there was no pain. That’s right. No pain. I even baked a carrot cake forty minutes before delivery with contractions coming every five minutes. My midwife was amazed. She said that it was how all babies should be born. I highly recommend it to anyone. It’s a small price to pay for a really enjoyable birth experience.

  3. June 19, 2008 12:45 pm

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Gautier!!!

Leave a Reply

