Skip to content

Playing the waiting game

January 10, 2012

So it’s now D-day +3, and I’m actually enjoying the wait. What I am finding frustrating is everyone’s assumption that I should be doing everything I can to get this Bean on the move. Well-meaning friends suggest raspberry leaf tea, kilos of pineapple and spicy curry (luckily not together). My midwife looked very surprised when I turned down a sweep just one day after my due date, already expecting to book me in for an induction. I find this strange. Firstly because only 5% of babies are born on their due date, so it’s clearly not unusual for them to be late. Secondly because French women are given a due date one week later than us Brits, again suggesting that it’s highly unlikely to be born at 40 weeks. So why are we so anxious to meddle and force the poor bugger out when he/she may not be ready to face the world yet? Is this symptomatic of our need to control even the most natural of experiences?

I’m definitely lucky because I’m still happily walking about (well, waddling), not feeling too huge, and not suffering from high blood pressure or anything that could compromise my baby’s safety (and of course, disregard ALL my chat if you are, as then it’s obviously crucial to get the little one out!). I’m taking these few weeks as a lesson in slowing down, weaning myself from my normal harried pace and constant brain stimulation, and learning to have afternoon naps without feeling guilty (ooh, so tough).

So this post was going to ask you about suggestions for getting labour going, but instead, what are the ‘lasts’ that I should be enjoying? I’m thinking chilled evenings with Bean-maker in front of the new stove, focussed conversation with friends, and time to cook long-winded experimental meals – let me know yours!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2012 9:22 pm

    Everyone always has tips and suggestions for getting baby out – for me, The Papadom in Bromley got labour started twice!

    I do agree, the NHS seems to be running off a tick list to get your baby out as soon as you reach 40weeks! It does feel very rushed and clinical towards the end, if there isn’t any necessity then why rush? I’ve heard friends stating that they want to get baby out before they get any bigger but lets think about it, 5lbs or 10lbs – it’s going to hurt and rips and tears are down to technique not size of baby!

    top of the lasts list, and sorry to lower the tone, has to be going to the bathroom alone – as a mum to two – this is rare!

  2. August 6, 2012 1:47 pm

    You’re so cool! I do not believe I’ve truly read through something like this before. So nice to discover someone with some genuine thoughts on this topic. Seriously.. thanks for starting this up. This website is one thing that is required on the internet, someone with a little originality!

Trackbacks

  1. Guest post – my birth story: Triley Clifford, mumpreneur – owner of customblackoutblinds.co.uk « The Amoralia Blog
  2. Guest post – my birth story: Triley Clifford, mumpreneur – owner of customblackoutblinds.co.uk – Amoralia

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,859 other followers

